

Prairie Spirit's new teachers met for a day of learning together on Friday, September 23 at Division Office.

New Prairie Spirit Board of Education

Prairie Spirit held elections in two subdivisions on Wednesday, October 26. The other ten subdivisions were filled by acclamation.

In Subdivision 1 (Blaine Lake, Laird, Leask, Waldheim, Leask and Riverbend Hutterite colonies), incumbent Pam Wieler was re-elected. Wieler received 264 votes while challenger Lee Rejc received 168 votes.

In Subdivision 2 (Duck Lake, Rosthern and Hague), Trina Miller was elected as a new Trustee. Miller received 508 votes while incumbent Keith Wagner received 248 votes.

Ten Trustees were acclaimed in their positions, including Garth Hetterly, Kimberly Greyeyes and William Badger who are joining the Prairie Spirit Board of Education for their first terms as Trustees.

At the new Board's first meeting on Monday, November 7, Larry Pavloff was chosen by the Board to continue as Board Chair. Sam Dyck will also continue as Board Vice-Chair. The Trustees were given a variety of roles on Board Committees.





Larry Pavloff Board Chair

Sam Dyck Board Vice-Chair

continued on page 3...





Volume 6, Issue 8 | November 2016



Delisle tile mural

Delisle is one of 150 communities in the country chosen to create a mural to celebrate Canada's 150 birthday in 2017. The mural—8 feet x 8 feet in size, with 400 tiles in all—was unveiled on October 20 at Delisle Elementary School.

The mural tiles were designed by students, staff and community members, including local artists . Delisle was one of eight Saskatchewan communities chosen for this exciting <u>project</u>.

Board nominates Prairie Spirit Learning Facilitators for prestigious Premier's Award for Innovation

The Prairie Spirit Board of Education nominated the Division's model for Learning Facilitators for the Premier's Award for Innovation and Excellence in Education, a Saskatchewan School Boards Association (SSBA) award.

This award recognizes educational innovations and improvements focused on student achievement that have been advanced or directed by boards of education.

The winner of the 2016 award was announced at the SSBA general meetings in Saskatoon earlier this month.

Prairie Spirit reports tenth consecutive year of enrolment growth

Prairie Spirit School Division is reporting its tenth consecutive year of enrolment growth, with an increase of over 150 students. Effective September 30, 2016, Prairie Spirit has over 10,780 students. All school divisions in the province must report their official enrolment numbers to the Ministry of Education as of this date each year.

Since Prairie Spirit was formed through the amalgamation of three school divisions in 2006, student enrolment has increased by approximately 2000 students.

The greatest increases in student enrolment for 2016/17 are in schools in the communities of Warman and Martensville.

Prairie Spirit Board of Education



Subdivision 1 Pam Wieler Blaine Lake Laird Leask Waldheim Green Leaf, Riverbend



and Leask Colonies





Subdivision 7 Dawne Badrock Clavet Dundurn Hanley South Corman Park Hillcrest Colony Lost River Colony

Subdivision 10 Sam Dvck **Board Vice-Chair** Warman



Subdivision 2 **Trina Miller** Duck Lake Haaue Rosthern



Photo

unavailable

Subdivision 5 Larry Pavloff **Board Chair** Asquith Perdue Eagle Creek Colony Sunnydale Colony

Subdivision 8 **Garth Hetterly** Aberdeen Allan Colonsav **Riverview** Colony

Subdivision 11 **Kimberly Greveves** Muskeg Lake Cree Nation



Subdivision 3 Ken Crush Borden Langham



Photo

unavailable

Subdivision 6 Bernie Howe Delisle Pike Lake Vanscoy Willow Park Colony

Subdivision 9 Bonnie Hope Martensville

> **Subdivision 12** William Badger Mistawasis First Nation



... continued from page 1

BOARD COMMITTEES

Advocacy Committee

Garth Hetterly Bonnie Hope Bernie Howe Trina Miller

Board Education Committee Garth Hetterly

Bernie Howe George Janzen

CUPE/Out of Scope Support Staff Agreements Committee Dawne Badrock

Ken Crush Larry Pavloff

Discipline Committee

Larry Pavloff Bernie Howe Board Trustee from the area involved

Home-Based Educators (HBE) Liaison Committee George Janzen

Trina Miller Pam Wieler

Indemnity Review Committee Ken Crush Garth Hetterly Bernie Howe

Local Implementations Negotiating Committee (LINC) Dawne Badrock Ken Crush George Janzen

Martensville High School (MHS) Renovation Committee Sam Dyck Bonnie Hope

P3 Building Projects Committee

Sam Dyck Bonnie Hope George Janzen Larry Pavloff

Partnership Committee

Trina Miller Pam Wieler

Policy Review Committee

Sam Dyck Bonnie Hope George Janzen Larry Pavloff

Senior Administration Compensation Committee Board Chair Board Vice Chair Ken Crush

STAFF COMMITTEES

Administrator Hiring Committee Sam Dyck Larry Pavloff Pam Wieler

Professional Support (Calendar) Committee Ken Crush

Bernie Howe Trina Miller

Transportation Review Committee Dawne Badrock Garth Hetterly Bernie Howe

EXTERNAL COMMITTEE INVITATIONS

Central Valley Athletic Conference (CVAC) Representatives George Janzen Pam Wieler

Public Section Representative Bonnie Hope Pam Wieler (alternate)

Saskatoon Regional Growth Committee Sam Dyck Garth Hetterly Bonnie Hope George Janzen

Prairie Spirit is on Twitter @prairiespiritsd #pssdlearn