

Waldheim School students enjoying the sun and reading outside in early May. Posted on Twitter by Katharine Kerr, Waldheim School Teacher



CHOOL DIVISION Learners for Life





Prairie Spirit confirms commitment to CTASP

Prairie Spirit confirmed its ongoing commitment to a key safety protocol—the Community Threat Assessment and Support Protocol (CTASP)—by participating in a signing ceremony along with 22 other local partners on April 26.

This collaborative CTASP work involves the entire community to support safe schools and neighbourhoods. Larry Pavloff, Board Chair, and Lori Jeschke, Director of Education, participated in the ceremony at the Saskatchewan Indian Institute of Technology (SIIT). The partnership has expanded to include SIIT, Great Plains College and Whitecap Dakota First Nation.

As part of CTASP, Prairie Spirit works with other local school divisions (Conseil des écoles fransaskoises, Greater Saskatoon Catholic, Saskatoon Public) and a variety of community organizations to put best safety and prevention procedures into place.

Community partners include: University of Saskatchewan, Sask Polytechnic, Ministry of Justice, Ministry of Social Services, RCMP, Ministry of Education and the Saskatoon Police Service, among others.

Within the protocol, the Division is committed to following established safety procedures in our schools.

The protocol facilitates sharing of information between community organizations (for example, the Ministries of Social Services, Education and Justice, as well as local police services and other organizations) when a student may pose a risk of violence towards themselves or others.

Prairie Spirit first joined the CTASP partnership in 2013. More information is available on the Division's Safe Schools page on the Prairie Spirit website.

Relocatable classrooms on the move in Prairie Spirit

As part of the 2018/19 provincial budget, Prairie Spirit will receive some funding to assist in moving relocatable classrooms within the Division.

Two relocatable classrooms will be moving to Waldheim School while one classroom will be moving to Dundurn School. The Board approved these moves at its regular meeting on May 23. Plans for these moves will take several months.



Lori Jeschke, Director of Education (back row, fifth from left) and Larry Pavloff, Board Chair (first row behind seated dignitaries, third from right), participated in the CTASP signing ceremony at SIIT on April 26.

The Prairie Spirit Board of Education



Subdivision 1
Pam Wieler
Blaine Lake
Laird
Leask
Waldheim
Green Leaf, Riverbend
and Leask Colonies



Subdivision 2
Trina Miller
Duck Lake
Hague
Rosthern



Subdivision 3 Ken Crush Borden Langham



Subdivision 4
George Janzen
Dalmeny
Hepburn
Osler



Subdivision 5
Larry Pavloff
Board Chair
Asquith
Perdue
Eagle Creek Colony
Sunnydale Colony



Subdivision 6
Bernie Howe
Delisle
Pike Lake
Vanscoy
Willow Park Colony



Subdivision 7

Dawne Badrock

Clavet

Dundurn

Hanley

South Corman Park

Hillcrest Colony

Lost River Colony



Subdivision 8
Garth Hetterly
Aberdeen
Allan
Colonsay
Riverview Colony



Subdivision 9
Bonnie Hope
Martensville



Subdivision 10
Sam Dyck
Board Vice-Chair
Warman



Subdivision 11
Kimberly Greyeyes
Muskeg Lake
Cree Nation

Subdivision 12
Vacant
Mistawasis
First Nation

Prairie Spirit is on Twitter @prairiespiritsd #mpscpssd Prairie Spirit is on Instagram prairie_spirit

The next Prairie Spirit Board of Education meeting will be held **Monday, June 4**, at Division Office in Warman.



