Don Morgan, Minister of Education, spoke at a celebration of the 10th anniversary of amalgamation for Prairie Spirit School Division on February 22 at the Division Office in Warman.

Volume 6, Issue 3 | March 2016



# School year calendar 2016/17

Two calendar options for the 2016/17 school year were approved in principle at the Board's regular meeting on Monday, March 7. The options will be reviewed by in-school administrators and SCCs before being shared with all staff for a vote. The Board learned that both options follow all legislative requirements and meet local agreements.

Ministry of Education school year calendar guidelines:

- The first instructional day for the 2016/17 school calendar will be Thursday, September 1.
- Christmas break is to commence not later than December 23 and end not earlier than January 2.
- School may not go later than June 30.
- School year calendar must have 185 instructional days and 197 operational days.

The vote on the 2016/17 Prairie Spirit school year calendar will be held between March 21 and 24. The Board will approve the calendar at its meeting on Monday, April 4. The Ministry must receive a school year calendar from each school division in the province by May 1.

### Names chosen for new schools under construction

The Prairie Spirit Board of Education has approved the following names for the two new elementary schools under construction in Prairie Spirit:

- Traditions Elementary School in the Traditions neighbour-hood in the City of Warman (expected grade configuration:
  Kindergarten to Grade 5). The school's library will be called the
  Sam Dyck Library, as a tribute to long-time Warman Trustee,
  Sam Dyck.
- Lake Vista Public School in the Lake Vista neighbourhood, City
  of Martensville (expected grade configuration: Kindergarten to
  Grade 8).

Prairie Spirit invited public submissions for the school names last fall. A subcommittee of local leaders worked together to create recommendations to the Board of Education. The Board reviewed the subcommittee's report and made a decision at its regular meeting on March 7.

"Trustees selected from the submissions received and chose the names they thought best reflected the communities where the schools are being built," said John Kuzbik, Director of Education. The Board thanked the public for their interest in the schools and in the naming process.

In addition to naming the schools themselves, the Board also ap-



The Minister of Education, Don Morgan, cut a celebratory cake with Board of Education Trustees: (I to r) Keith Wagner, Ken Crush, Sam Dyck, Minister Morgan, Dawne Badrock, George Janzen, Bonnie Hope, Lori Jeschke (Learning Superintendent) and Bernie Howe



proved a motion to name the Traditions Elementary School library after Warman's long-time Trustee, Sam Dyck. "I believe that every citizen has a responsibility to make the world a better place," Dyck said, as he thanked the Board. "My goal has been to improve educational opportunities for the next generation."

Construction on both of these new schools remains on schedule. The schools are expected to open for students in September 2017. The public can view the construction sites in real-time through webcams at each school site.

Administrators for each school will be announced later this spring. Other decisions, including specialized programming, attendance boundaries and transportation, will be announced once they are finalized.

## **Venture Heights Elementary School presentation**

Venture Heights Elementary School administrators, Ron Biberdorf and Nicole Lacoursiere, made a presentation to the Board about their Pre-K to Grade 8 school in Martensville, with an enrolment of over 650 students.

Biberdorf provided an overview of the parent volunteer program at their school. Two parents who lead the program presented details about their work with other parents in the school. To date, over 800

continued...

parent volunteer hours have been tracked in Venture Heights this school year alone.

Bonnie Hope, Trustee for Martensville, thanked the administrators and the parents for their presentations and for their good work with their students.

#### **New Teacher Program**

Tracey Young, Learning Superintendent, provided information to the Board about the Division's formal program for new teachers, including two full days of Professional Development each fall. "This time with our new teachers helps them to understand what the Division expects, to build relationships and to define our beliefs and values," Young explained.

During their first two years with the Division, new teachers receive feedback and experience collaboration with a variety of profession-

als in the Division. In 2015/16, 52 new teachers from 22 schools have been participating in the new teacher program.

Two teachers at Venture Heights, Meagan Mitchell and Tanya Robertson, made a presentation about their experiences as new teachers in Prairie Spirit School Division. They expressed appreciation for the supports that are available to them, both at the school level and from the Division. They highlighted opportunities to observe other teachers and then discuss teaching strategies with their colleagues.

Next Board of Education meeting:
Tuesday, March 22, 2016, Division Office, Warman
Prairie Spirit Annual General Meeting
Tuesday, May 17, Martensville High School

# **Prairie Spirit Board of Education**



Subdivision 1
Pam Wieler
Blaine Lake
Laird
Leask
Waldheim
Green Leaf, Riverbend
and Leask Colonies



Subdivision 2 Keith Wagner Duck Lake Hague Rosthern



Subdivision 3 Ken Crush Borden Langham



Subdivision 4
George Janzen
Dalmeny
Hepburn
Osler



Subdivision 5
Larry Pavloff
Board Chair
Asquith
Perdue
Eagle Creek Colony
Sunnydale Colony



Subdivision 6
Bernie Howe
Delisle
Pike Lake
Vanscoy
Willow Park Colony



Subdivision 7

Dawne Badrock

Clavet

Dundurn

Hanley

South Corman Park

Hillcrest Colony

Lost River Colony



Subdivision 8
Joanne Brochu
Aberdeen
Allan
Colonsay
Riverview Colony



Subdivision 9
Bonnie Hope
Martensville



Subdivision 10 Sam Dyck Board Vice-Chair Warman



Subdivision 11

Deanna Greyeyes

Muskeg Lake

Cree Nation



Subdivision 12 Shantelle Watson Mistawasis First Nation



