

Warman High School students created a memorial for the 215 children whose remains were found at the site of the former Kamloops Indian Residential School. #everychildmatters

- photo credit: Sean Brandt, WHS teacher, on Twitter

Michif Early Learning Pilot Project

Prairie Spirit will receive funding from the Métis Nation-Saskatchewan for staffing and resources to offer a Michif Early Learning Pilot Program (MELPP) in a Prairie Spirit school.

The Division will explore placing a MELPP in Stobart Community School in the 2021/22 school year. The Board discussed this exciting opportunity for Prairie Spirit students at its meeting on May 17.

Blaine Lake school project

At its May 17 meeting, the Board approved using reserve funds to ensure the new school project in Blaine Lake has an appropriate Practical and Applied Arts (PAA) shop. The Ministry funding for this new school project does not provide for a PAA shop with the capacity of the school's current PAA shop. By using reserve funds for the Blaine Lake Composite School (BLCS) project, the school will be able to continue to offer its strong PAA program.

The PAA program at BLCS supports student engagement and provides specialized skill development for students in the practical and applied arts, particularly in carpentry.

This new school project is expected go to tender by the end of 2021 and to be ready for students by fall 2023.

Facilities update

This Board received a semi-annual Facilities report from Teresa Korol, Facilities Planner, at the June 7 Board meeting.

This report aligns with the Provincial Auditor's requirements to report on key measures of school building condition, including Facility Condition Index (FCI) for each school. The FCI measures the cost of repair for a facility versus its replacement value.

Volume 11, Issue 5 | June 2021

🋫 🔟 🗗

PRAIRIE SPIRIT SCHOOL DIVISION

Learners for Life

Located within Treaty 6 Territory

The Board was given an update on a number of repair and renovation projects underway throughout the Division. Clavet Composite School is undergoing a major renovation, with construction to begin in July.

This \$7.3 million project in Clavet is funded by provincial stimulus funding and the Division's preventative maintenance and renewal budget. The project includes the addition of three new portable classrooms, upgrades to the mechanical system, washroom upgrades, the addition of a third washroom on the second floor, extensive structural renovations and upgrades to the centre administration wing of the school.

"This major renovation project will modernize the school environment to support 21st century learning at Clavet Composite School," said Korol.

In addition, Prairie Spirit received funding through the federal Climate Action Initiative Fund (CAIF) which supported the completion of three projects at the end of 2020: Leask (roof); Hanley (windows); and Hepburn (furnaces).

Vanscoy School receives citizenship award

The Board congratulated Vanscoy School and its "Me to We" group on receiving a Public Schools of Saskatchewan Citizenship Award on June 4. The Board recognized the work of Shannon McLeod, Vanscoy teacher, in leading this work at the school.

The Public Schools of Saskatchewan Citizenship Awards recognize initiatives that support citizenship within the school and community. This is the first year for these awards, with three awards for elementary projects and three for high school projects.

Trustee Highlight

Kate Kading has served as the Board of Education Trustee for Subdivision 2 (Duck Lake, Hague and Rosthern) since Board elections in November 2020.



"I am deeply honoured to have been elected by the voters in Subdivision 2," Kate said. "I decided to run because I felt my strengths in advocacy and provincial government relations would bring a lot to the Board table."

Kate has an extensive and diverse career in communications, with training in radio and television

broadcasting. She is a writer and an avid volunteer for Rosthern Community School and the community of Rosthern. She has experience in municipal politics and provincial advocacy.

Kate is an RCMP wife and mother of two boys. "My number one priority is creating equal opportunity for all of our students across the division, and, in turn, across the province," she said.

Kate says a Trustee is always searching for ways to help, to be a voice for families and to liaise between the Division and the SCCs. "I based my election platform on making the Board accessible to all and I mean that in the best possible way. We are people representing people, and being approachable at all times is imperative," she explained.

Kate says a highlight of her time on the Board of Education so far is the relationship building around the Board table.

"Cultivating friendships and working relationships is a particular strength of mine and Prairie Spirit has some wonderful people to know!" she said. "In these challenging times it is more important than ever to connect with others, check in, and grow meaningful bonds."



Trustee Kate Kading with His Honour the Honourable Russ Mirasty (second from left), Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan, Her Honour Donna Mirasty, and Dennis Helmuth, Mayor of Rosthern (far left) at the Prairie Rivers Reconciliation Declaration Signing at One Arrow First Nation in February 2020.

South Corman Park's "Giving Tree" Outdoor Library. This initiative began this spring as a student suggestion and has been growing from there! The Giving Tree is a book by Leah Dorion which tells the story of the "giving tree," a spot where families share what they have and take what they need.
- photo credit: Kirsten Tucker, SCP Principal



Prairie Spirit Board of Education



Subdivision 1 Pam Wieler Blaine Lake Laird Leask Waldheim Green Leaf, Riverbend + Leask Colonies



Subdivision 2 Kate Kading Duck Lake Hague Rosthern



Subdivision 3 Ken Crush Borden Langham



Subdivision 4 Christa Willems Dalmeny Hepburn Osler



Subdivision 5 Angela Bothner Perdue Lord Asquith Eagle Creek Colony Sunnydale Colony



Subdivision 6 Bernie Howe Delisle Pike Lake Vanscoy Willow Park Colony

Board Chair



Subdivision 7 Dawne Badrock Clavet Dundurn Hanley South Corman Park Hillcrest Colony



Subdivision 8 Grace Wudrick Aberdeen Allan Colonsay Lost River Colony Riverview Colony



Subdivision 9 Bonnie Hope City of Martensville

Board Vice-Chair

PRAIRIE SPIRIT SCHOOL DIVISION



Subdivision 10 Adin Dereniwski City of Warman



Subdivision 11 Kimberly Greyeyes Muskeg Lake Cree Nation

🄰 🧿 F

Twitter: @prairiespiritsd #mpscpssd Instagram: prairie_spirit Facebook: Prairie Spirit School Division